Does this happen at your house, too?

The remote for the TV in our Living Room has been missing since suppertime. Every couch cushion has been flipped and every chair searched under. I’ve investigated the bathrooms and the closets and I’ve even looked out on the back deck.

The TV has stayed off for this many hours because, while I’m willing to crawl around on my hands and knees looking for a little black rectangle of plastic, I’m certainly not going to be caught standing in front of the television changing channels and adjusting the volume MANUALLY like some lowly peasant from 1981. I’m also not in agreement with simply watching the television in the basement, because it is all the way down there and I am currently all the way up here.

So, tonight I’m noticing that there are other things to do rather than watching the goggle box. Did you know that people actually walk their dogs in an evening and that it’s still light out around here well after 8 o’clock? And that one can actually clean or blog or read a book, instead of watching reruns on the Home and Garden Channel (Location Location Location is my favourite)?

True story.

7 responses to this post.

  1. We’re so effing lazy we will just watch whatever channel the tv is left on when the remote goes missing until it turns up again.

    Reply

  2. I refuse to believe that cleaning can be an alternative to watching tv. I can’t even understand what you’re trying to say here. No, I won’t listen to it! Cleaning should never be done in place of watching tv!

    Reply

  3. Posted by CanadianCarrie on July 8, 2008 at 8:16 am

    During the day, if the kids are not otherwise occupied, Treehouse (3 yrold) rules our living room tv, and Family channel (5 yrold) rules our bedroom tv. So when I have time at night to watch and the remote is missing, I just put it on Slice or TLC and leave it while I’m internetting or folding laundry, or whatever.

    Reply

  4. Posted by CanadianCarrie on July 8, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Oh yeah, back when we were lowly peasants, we would make our youngest brother go up to the tv and change channels, every five minutes, it was quite entertaining, I think my older bro hid the remote sometimes just to make little bro go through that!

    Reply

  5. I’m missing a fork and a saucer. If you find ‘em, please send ‘em back to me.

    Reply

  6. We’re one of those smug “no tv” households. Works great. Especially since we can cheat by renting DVDs and downloading stuff from the internet, while preserving our holier than thou “no tv” status. Good for you for getting out and about but really, best of luck with finding that remote. Or buying a new one. THEN finding the old one.

    Reply

  7. Haha, very true.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

