Deep Thoughts With Jack Handy

I use this website to get really good quotes for my newsletter at Administrative Avenue. Yesterday, while working (but not really doing that…), I came across the section of quotes from Saturday Night Live’s Jack Handy. I literally sat behind my cubicle screen giggling and trying not to pee my pants!

I remember watching SNL every Saturday night during my pregnancy with Zeenee…most of 1991. I was a real nightowl during my pregnancy…I didn’t get to sleep most nights until about 2, so I’d watch all the late night shows. SNL was one of my favourites…Mike Myers (Canuck!), David Spade, Phil Hartman…

Deep Thoughts With Jack Handy used to come on between the skits (I don’t know if they still do…I haven’t watched in 10 years at least). They’d show a picture of beautiful scenery…a sunset, the ocean…and then Jack Handy would voice over his “deep thoughts”…

Dad always thought laughter was the best medicine, which I guess is why several of us died of tuberculosis.

To me, clowns aren’t funny. In fact, they’re kind of scary. I’ve wondered where this started and I think it goes back to the time I went to the circus, and a clown killed my dad.

I think I’m going to add a deep thought to every post for the next little while…either they’re incredibly funny or I’m just severely warped (little of both?).

Time until I’m back with my family: 6 hours, 15 minutes…we’re going to Eastside Marios for dinner tonight…we’ve been waiting for them to build one in our part of the world for four years…it’s finally open!

Laundry list: Multiple loads, multiple washes, multiple dryings, multiple swearing…

What’s for lunch?: The boss is buying lunch today! Souvlaki…ah Greek.

Deep thoughts with Jack Handy: Consider the daffodil. And while you’re doing that, I’ll be over here, looking through your stuff.

Another deep thoughts site: Jack Handy

wikiPedia even has a listing on Jack Handy: wikiJackHandy

