“Feed” Desperate to be a Housewife

…no, not with food. I’m starting a diet, remember?

Just wanted to mention that I have recently come out of the dark ages and added a feed to this blog, so you can keep up with all the happenings here at D2bH…oooooh, shiny!

If you’re not quite sure what a feed is…you add the feed to an RSS reader and everytime one of your favourite sites updates, you can see it and click-in…wait, I’m the last person that should be explaining it to you…cause did I mention that me “teaching” is right at the bottom of my list of occupations I would like to try…see it? Right there underneath “the guy who attaches tracking devices to sharks”. So….here’s a link all about feeds and rss (from Feedburner)…cause those guys can explain it in words you will understand. This is how I usually describe technical do-ma-hoos (I made that word up, you didn’t know that did you?):


  • What kind of car do you have? A red one.
  • What type of computer do you use? A beige one.
  • What is an RSS feed? Ooooooooh, shiny!


Obviously, it’s better if someone else explains it. Here are some of the feeds you can subscribe to. I do know that if you click on the pretty picture, it explains how to add it to your homepage…ie. Google, Yahoo, Bloglines, etc. I subscribe to all of my favourite blogs if they have a feed and I add them to my personalized Google Homepage. (psst…I also subscribed to my own, just so I can see it working).

Subscribe in Bloglines

Subscribe to Desperate To Be A Housewife

P.S. If you’re using Blogger and don’t have a feed yet, go to Settings, Feed and follow the instructions. It will lead you to Feedburner and you can get the same pretty pictures to place on your site…say it with me once more….oooooooh, shiny!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Well, the feed reader I use picks up most rss feeds even if you didn’t manually add it, and with Blogger it’s not so much necessary, but I don’t know if that’s all the feed readers or not. But you’ve been in mine since June I think… lol

    Tara 🙂

  2. I’ve got to agree with you – feeds are the way to go!

  3. Um, I’ve heard of feeds, but have never used them. They sound like they’d probably be easier than surfing through my dozens of blog bookmarks to see if they’ve been updated, huh?

Comments are closed.

