Fifteen years in this business has taught me…

To navigate the world of parenting
I would advise you not to use moisturizer
For you will need skin the thickness of rawhide
To survive the judgements of others

That is the only parenting ADVICE
You will get from me
If asked I will tell you how I did it
I will tell you what worked for me and what didn’t

But don’t expect me to tell you
How it should be done
What books you have to read
What methods you must follow

And don’t look down on me for my choices
I will not apologize
For the way I’m raising my children
I won’t do it

I will not apologize
For not breastfeeding
I will not apologize
For using the CIO method

I will not apologize
For having my son circumcised
I will not apologize
For using disposable diapers

I will not apologize
For enjoying liquor around my children
I will not apologize
For being a teenaged mother

I will not apologize
For being a working mother
I will not apologize
For choosing public school

I will not apologize
For foregoing religion
I will not apologize
For feeding my kids junk food

I will not judge you
For choosing breast over bottle
I will not judge you
For using the family bed

I will not judge you
For using cloth diapers
I will not judge you
For homeschooling

I will not judge you
For choosing organic
I will not judge you
For having one child or seven

I will not judge you
For your housekeeping methods
I will not judge you
For being a SAHM

I will not judge you
For using the TV as a babysitter
I will not judge you
For losing your temper

I will tell you
If you really must know
That there is one secret
To raising a child right

DO IT YOUR WAY
If it feels like it’s okay
Then it probably is
…and don’t use moisturizer

8 responses to this post.

  1. LOVE this, especially the part about needing thick skin. Great post!

    Reply

  2. *applauds!* Aaaaaaaaaamen!

    Reply

  3. Brava!

    Reply

  4. I love this! I’ve been in the business 19 years now and have to agree- definitely do not use moisturizer!

    Reply

  5. I love this post!!! (and your blog btw!) I will definitely be back!! Happy Holidays!!

    Reply

  6. Amen! Love, love, love this post.

    Reply

  7. AMEN SISTA! One day I’ll tell you why I stopped going to the Commercial Drive Health Unit Mommy drop in. Besides the fact that I would have probably commit a criminal act there. P.S. I’m printing that out and putting it on my desk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

