The Week In Emotions

Anxious, because I haven’t posted for days and days and I have so much to tell, but yet so little. I keep coming up with posts in my head, but somehow these thoughts don’t transfer to my fingers on a regular basis and the brilliance is lost (because, truly you come here for the shear brilliance of my words, no?).

Proud of myself, as I managed to mail the prizes to the Winnas on Friday! FRIDAY, only one day after the winners were announced. So very un-Procrastamom of me. Winnas, let me know if you don’t receive anything by about Monday. We might have to check the postal service. Like, what if Kevin Costner fell off his horse or something.

So Over the cold and snow that we’ve had here in the Lower Mainland for the last week. So Done with the windstorms that have caused so much damage to fences and trees and houses and Stanley Park over the last couple of months. It’s going to take a lot of work for us to cleanup our property come spring. Most of our side fence is down and a couple of our cedars have been snapped off at their trunks. Living in this mild climate for eight years has made me into a giant suckhole. I can no longer handle temperatures below zero like I could growing up in Calgary (where you regularly lived with temps below 20 for six months of the year). Mother Nature, are you on crack! Return the rain to my spoiled Vancouverite self. Bring back the 8-10 degree January days. I wish not to warm up my car in a morning. To have to wear a coat everywhere I go. To don boots to walk down my driveway. Leave that to the poor, unwashed Easterners…and bring me my Starbucks!

Desperate to tell you this secret that I have. But I don’t want to say a word until we have good news, because I CANNOT jinx it. Here, I’ll give you a clue. It rhymes with SOUSING HITUATION and has something to do with a van and something to do with a river. And I am permanently obsessed with it. And most times sometimes I cry about it. And most times sometimes I throw things because of it…but mostly in the laundry room, because for some reason that is the room that I obsess about it the most. Yes, I obsess about it over odd socks. And throw bottles of Tide (Now! With Advanced Cleaning Agents!) at the stupid roll-away dishwasher we have to store in the laundry room, because there’s nowhere else to put that monstrosity. Also, I’m not going to tell the secret if we get bad news instead of good. If it comes to that then you will probably find me in the laundry room drinking from the bottle of Tide (Now! With Advanced Cleaning Agents!), slumped over the stupid roll away dishwasher, the odd socks slipped over my hands like puppets, performing scenes from “Les Miserables.”

I had a dream my life would be
So different from this hell I’m living
So different now from what it seemed
Now life has killed the dream I dreamed.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck with your big secret. I hope everything works out.

    p.s. Your post cracked me right up.

    Reply

  2. Posted by adder on January 17, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    got my sweet sweet winnings today. seriously, omg that are fantastic! you should start selling them…. they are fab!

    Reply

  3. OMG OMG OMG…. I can’t wait to hear more about that big secret!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Viewsfromtwo on January 17, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    I received my cards yesterday! I love them, they are absolutely beautiful! Keeping my fingers crossed for your big secret!

    Reply

  5. I got mine today too, they are great. I’m thinking hopeful thoughts about your sousing hituation.

    Reply

  6. Crossing my fingers for, er, no reason at all. Nope. Not jinxing anything.

    Reply

  7. Eyes, fingers, toes are crossed. Just like Laura, no reason. No jinxing. Oh good, good luck kid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

