Five truths and an evil LIE !! With a TWIST!

I’ve seen this meme everywhere in the blogosphere. One of my favourite people, landismom, did it recently and I also saw it on Beth’s site a couple of weeks ago, so it’s making the rounds again. The object is for me to tell you six things about me, five truths and ONE LIE. Your job is to figure out which one is causing me to require a good Beverly Hills plastic surgeon to fix my rapidly expanding nose-al area.

TWIST! The first person to point out the correct LIE in the comments will receive a package of hand-made Christmas cards, lovingly crafted by my Mom. Because you can never be too early in your planning for the coming Holiday Season. No, not even in February. (sorry, I have no picture of this alleged prize. But! BUT, this “alleged prize” is not the lie! The cards are very real and very nice)

1. One of my past jobs was working in the office of a cemetery. We once did a series of cross-training days where I got to work with the grounds-keeping crew. I learned how to operate a back-hoe and dug a grave for a dead guy!

2. Former Olympic Figure Skater, Tracy Wilson, taught me how to swim when I was six. We met Tracy and her family on vacation in Christina Lake, BC in the summer of 1978 and she helped me and my brother Ivan get used to the water and learn some basics like blowing bubbles and diving for rocks.

3. I have an interview tomorrow morning for my dream job. This guy was very impressed with my resume and arranged with the agency I am signed up with to meet me for breakfast in a location convenient to my home. It is an interview for an Executive Assistant position and between the salary and the benefits they are offering, it would increase my take home dramatically. I have printed out and read their entire website in an effort to be informed about the company. I am nervous about screwing this one up.

4. Only one of my kids, Adam, was born by C-section. It was an emergency procedure brought on by the fact that he wasn’t breathing properly and they had to get to him fast. It was a scary delivery for both Richard and I and a very uncomfortable recovery for me. Thankfully, Adam was healthy and all in one piece once he was born. Although, the lack of oxygen during that period may explain his unusual artistic endevours.

5. My greatest talent is that I can roll my eyes around in their sockets really fast, round and round and round. My uncle once taped me doing it when I was about twenty, and after seeing it on video I didn’t do it again for many years. I do it now for the amusement of my children and at parties after I’ve had a few. It’s made me wildly popular in my neighbourhood, especially when I do it for new people I’ve just met. I often see these people at the grocery store pointing and whispering. They whisper because they know I don’t like anyone to make a big deal out of my talents. I wouldn’t, however, be averse to earning some extra cash on the side by booking some eye-rolling gigs.

6. I only have four fingers on my left hand!

…be the first person to point out the LIE and get started early on your Holiday obligations. (sorry MIL, but you know me way too well to comment on this one. You can play along at home and email me with your guess. Like you wouldn’t know the answer immediately).

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by adder on February 28, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    I say number 6!

    and if it isn’t the job one – then GOOD LUCK!

    Reply

  2. Posted by ageekymom on February 28, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    I’m guessing (but not hoping, for your sake) that it’s number 3.. unfortunately!

    Reply

  3. Well, I was going to guess #3, because I thought you already had your ideal job…but #6 is pretty compelling.

    Reply

  4. I am new to your blog so have not been reading you long enough to figure out which one is more likely to be a lie. But I will guess no. 1.

    Reply

  5. Posted by MIL on March 1, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Dang, how come when I actually know the answer, no one will let me play! Oh well, your mom likes me so I can probably get some cards anyway!
    Love, MIL

    Reply

  6. dangit I think I am too late, I think it is #3 that is the lie!

    Reply

  7. No right answers so far. I will say that I DO, in fact, have four fingers on my left hand…just as most (if not all) of you do. Four fingers and a thumb 😉

    Reply

  8. I repeat, #5.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Viewsfromtwo on March 1, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    I guess number 4. By the way, since 3 isn’t a lie, good luck! I will think good thoughts for you!

    Reply

  10. I’m going to say #2 just because nobody else has and I thought you MAY be tricking by saying an Olympic skater taught you how to swim (instead of skate). But then again, I may be reading too much into it.

    So yeah. #2. Just because.

    Reply

  11. All right, I’m going to have to break down and guess number 1. I bought it at first–but the backhoe? Too suspicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

