Can’t sleep. Need a job. Can’t sleep…

Two things I haven’t done in a long time:

1. Walked five blocks in Downtown Vancouver.

2. Worn heels.

Third thing I haven’t done in a long time:

3. Walked five blocks in Downtown Vancouver whilst wearing heels (ouch and oh my poor feet).

Were you aware that your heel can get stuck in one of those cracks in the sidewalk and that it will render you instantly immobile* and your shoe will almost definately come off? I wasn’t aware of this phenomenon. Until it happened to me today. That and I spilled a nice glob of latte on my shirt, but luckily that was after the interview, so phew and all.

I went downtown today for my second interview with the same guy who took me out for breakfast last week. I think it went pretty well, but I still don’t know if I have the job. The lady at the agency seems to think I have it in the bag, but I’m counting on NOTHING until I have the offer. I still can’t help but have my hopes up though…I do so want to get out of where I’m working now and this place where I interviewed would be a perfect fit for me. This, my typing a post at 11:30 at night, is further proof that my brain is buzzing with the HOPE. I. cannot. sleep.

This guy was very thorough with his questioning though. I have to say that the interview question I hate the most is where they ask you to describe your dream job. I always have to hold myself back from painting a scene with a couch, a TV and a big bag of Doritos. I’m pretty sure they’re looking for more dedication than that, but man I hate that question. Do you describe the real dream job where they actually pay you large sums of money to review episodes of Oprah Winfrey while snacking on your favourite grub or do you describe a position similar to the one you’re applying for? I opted for the latter, but I so wanted to throw in a small wish of a company sports car and a hefty clothing allowance.

After working in a small construction company for almost four years, my professional wardrobe has gone down the tubes. I had to wear a twinset today with my nice pants as I’d worn my only jacket to the first interview. And even that was one of those pink tweed numbers that screams “oh 2004, there you are! I’ve been looking all over for your old and nasty self girl!”. Yeah, when I finally get another job I’m gonna need to go shopping. Shhh, don’t tell Richard, but it’ll cost him A LOT!

…keep your fingers crossed for me. And careful of those cracks in the sidewalk!

(*I did brag today about my fantastic spelling and proofreading skills, but damn that word “immobile” just looks wrong)

6 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve got my fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  2. Eyes, fingers and toes crossed. GOOD LUCK!

    Reply

  3. Great blog, girl!! And my finger are tightly crossed. Good luck!!

    Happy Weekend.

    Reply

  4. Goodluck!

    I make up crap about how I want a career I can throw myself into and be completely engulfed in. (Part of me really does) but yeah a being paid to do nothing or do whatever I want would be the best. 😉

    Reply

  5. Good luck to you!

    Hi, my name is Elle. I’m new to your blog. It’s really great. I am a SAHM to three girls. Nice to “meet” you.

    Reply

  6. […] Can’t sleep. Need a job. Can’t sleep… […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

