From her favourite son’s wife

When I was 19 and pregnant and scared, she gave me a hug and told me everything was going to be okay. Then she booked me an appointment with her family doctor, who went on to deliver all three of my kids.

When I was newly married and unskilled in everything culinary, she taught me how to make some simple dishes and gave me her best recipes that I still use to this day. Because of her, I make a mean lasagna and cheese biscuits that makes my family drool.

When I visit her, we talk and talk. And drink tea and eat cookies. I know that when I need it, she will always have tea. Always.

I have always thought that – if I had been given the opportunity to interview a million people and pick just one for this position – she would have been my first choice.

The position is Mother-in-law and “she” is mine. Today is her Birthday and because I know she reads here regularly, I just wanted her to know that I wish I could be there to celebrate this special day, give her a big hug and tell her how much she truly means to me.

…and then we would drink tea!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM! I LOVE YOU!!!

6 responses to this post.

  1. you see too many cheap shots at mothers-in-law… lovely to see this post …

    Reply

  2. This is awesome!! So glad you have such a great relationship with your MIL. I wish mine was as good these days.

    Reply

  3. that is so rare I think to have such a great relationship with one’s MIL…mine is getting better and better and I am so thankful for that!

    oh and I was snopping in your flicker….you are one good looking family!

    Reply

  4. Posted by MIL on March 25, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    And if in all the world, I could have chosen my DIL, it would have been you. There is no one who could love my son and my grandchildren more than you. No one who could make their lives so full. And there isn’t a mother in law in the world who is loved more than me….bar none….nadda! You are the best. (Typed with tears streaming down face, littel sobs of joy escaping my lips!) I love you, Mom

    Reply

  5. Wow, the whole post I thought you were talking about your mother, and then you said mother-in-law, you are so lucky to have a close relationship like you do. That’s so nice!

    Reply

  6. This is so sweet. What luck, huh?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

