Is it weird that my new dream job is to work at Epcot in the Canada section, selling mini totem poles and maple syrup to tourists who think we live in igloos and use sled-dogs for public transit?

Gawd, I had a hard time getting back to work today. In 13 days I have forgotten how to do my job. Somebody asked me the simplest of questions this afternoon and I must have stared at them for a good two minutes before the answer came to me. “Vicky. My name is definately Vicky and I think I pay people. Where is the bathroom again? Because I remember I used to spend an awful lot of time in there.”

The problem is that I don’t want to be there. Because “there” is not Florida.

I want the 90 degree weather back with the 50% humidity.

I want to still be living in the two bedroom/two bathroom hotel room, because that is one more bathroom than the five of us currently share at home.

I want to swim in the hotel pool and play air hockey with the kids in the games room and then go get a Coconut Daquari from the pool bar. And a Corona for Richard.

I want to spend more days exploring the parks at Disney. Five and a half days and we barely scratched the surface.

I want to get up at 8:00 and go, go, go all day until we fall into bed at 11:00, wondering if our feet will EVER shrink back to their normal unswollen selves. Then I want to do it all again the next day.

I want to throw my credit card around with reckless abandon, buying kitchy nick-knacks adorned with mouse ears and little sparkly fairies. Did you know they sell Mickey Mouse oven mitts? I didn’t get any and I think now that I need some. Also, I regret not buying the travel coffee mug with Grumpy on it (so cliche – “I’m Grumpy until I’ve had my morning coffee” – yet so me). I neeeeeed one of those.

I want to drift on the lazy river in an innertube, around and around the Blizzard Beach waterpark. Then I want to climb twelve flights of stairs and plunge headfirst down the toboggan hill.

I want to gaze at this again:

Cinderella's Castle - Magic Kingdom

I want to still be “there”.

One response to this post.

  1. Thinking about sled dogs? The Iditarod is cruel to dogs. For the facts, visit the Sled Dog Action Coalition website, http://www.helpsleddogs.org

    Reply

Leave a Reply

