I was going to apologize to the etiquette police, but I just don’t fucking feel like it

It’s after 10:00 already this morning and I haven’t even started my payroll. Payroll, the major part of my job. The beginning of every week, when I spend two full days ensuring that 250 people are paid properly for the time they put in. The part of my job that sometimes seems more like babysitting than accounting. When I spend hour after hour on the phone begging people to send me their timesheets, so I can like, give you some money…due on Monday morning just like the past two hundred million weeks you’ve worked here and what part of this process is so difficult for you to understand? You give me hours, I give you bucks. Oui?

Two things that have hindered my progress so far:

(besides stopping to post this. because I just had to stop and vent my frustrations here before I found myself rocking back and forth under my desk with post-it notes stuck to my ass, yelling random curse words, whilst chewing on my stapler)

1. One of my brilliant foremen had me lay off the wrong guy last week. He just…gave me the wrong name. Same crew, wrong guy. I’ve spent an hour and a half fixing that shit storm.

2. I took the last swig of my tea a minute ago and almost gulped down a clotted blob of milk. Expired milk. In my tea. That I just drank pretty much the entire cup of.

Things that make me go fffffffffffffuuuuuuuuuuuucccccckkkkk!!!

5 responses to this post.

  1. That was EVERY DAY felt like at my last office gig. Bleh. Yuck. Gross. Here’s to better days.

    Reply

  2. Posted by CanadianCarrie on July 31, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    Ouch!! Mondays do suck!
    You know what I love about you/your blog? You are definitely Canadian! You actually remind me of my best friend! No holds barred, let it all out…. CANADIAN!! Love it!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Amy on August 1, 2007 at 4:44 am

    I can’t imagine having to be the one to lay someone off and then turn around and say “Ooppps, not you! That other guy over there.” That would probably make me say “Fuck”, too.

    Reply

  4. Gross! And whew, at least the foreman owned up to his mistake, and didn’t try to blame it on you.

    Reply

  5. Oh, I lived through the timesheet collection hell for several years. I wasn’t eventhe one entering them for payroll, but the begging required was ridiculous!

    Ifeel your pain!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

