Stuff, things and thoughts. Also muffins.

Ugh! My last post was piffle! Absolute garbage! Just goes to show what can happen when you’re drunk on lack of sleep, stuffed up to the gills with a cold and wondering how you will ever escape the chokehold that Chapter 3 – Intermediate Accounting: Third Edition has on you. Is it at all possible that you will ever understand the single-step Income Statement? Why oh why don’t you remember how to do adjusting entries? Does this course get easier soon? Like, will this textbook eventually ask you how to pair socks or make a really good lasagna? Because. I can do that! I could totally pass if they put that on the final exam.

Luckily, an adequate amount of rest and some killer cold medicine (yay Tylenol Cold for nightime!), combined with a really productive day at work led me to last night where I passed the bi-weekly quiz with 2.5 out of 3.0. I kicked myself for missing that last half mark because these quizzes are open book and I can take as much time doing them as I want, but I was just so glad to be done with it for another two weeks I was practically euphoric. Now I can take my time over the next two evenings to do the practice questions and past exam questions so I can really understand Income Statements and Balance Sheets. Oh, and the midterm assignment isn’t due until Nov. 7th so I totally won’t stress about that until….uhm…November 6th?

Most nights Ashley and I do our homework together at the dining room table (aka Homework Central as the entire tabletop is covered in papers, books, office supplies, a laptop, a graphing calculator for Ash and a plain old printing calculator for me). She has a HEAVY workload this semester (grade 11) with three honours courses – English, Math & Social Studies – and Chemistry. My poor girl is up until at least 11:00 every night pounding away at the books. She’s so dedicated to her studies, but I really worry about the load she’s carrying this term. She’s really a perfectionist and no mark is a good mark if it’s not an A. I just don’t know how she’s going to react if she ends up with B’s and C’s in these much more difficult honours courses.

Also, her Chemistry teacher (who I sort of know from an outside association) is being a real witch. What do you think of the fact that she gave the class a quiz in the first week and then she split them into two groups based on how they scored on that test. Unfortunately, Ashley scored in the lower group and this teacher makes a point of helping the kids in the “smarter” group first. Apparently she will outright ignore people with their hands up in the lower group until she’s finished with everyone in the smarter group, even if they have their hands up first. Yesterday, Ashley said someone from her group had to call out “Hello!” to finally get her attention (I guess she would have looked stupid not responding to that). She acts like her teaching skills are far too good for the “dumb” kids and she doesn’t have time to waste with them. I told Ash that I would be saying something to this woman about this at the next parent teacher interviews, but she balked at that guessing that the teacher would treat her even worse if I called her out on her actions. So now I’m wondering if I should say something or just let it go?

I was planning to do Comment Box Tuesday today, but I have commented on exactly one blog this week that I can remember. So here’s a mini Comment Box Tuesday for you from Bumblebee Sweet Potato which is a blog that I absolutely adore. I have been a fan of landismom since May of 2005, when I first started this blog and she’s always been a frequent commenter. Basically, I pink puffy heart her. And you should too.

Bumblebee Sweet Potato

Ashley had hers done at four. Richard took her to the mall one day without me and she asked to have it done, so he let her. Andie was about nine and she spent her own birthday money to have it done.

Like you, my Mom had her ears pierced for the first time when I did at seven years old (wait, does that make sense? I was seven, she was [takes off shoes and socks and borrows fingers from colleague also…28 plus 7, carry the zero]= 35). She didn’t take well to it and let them close up after a year or two. I still have the holes in my ears, but I rarely wear earrings as I usually don’t remember to.

One more thing. One of our foremen brings in donuts and muffins every time he comes into the office. I mean every single time. He ususally works out of town, but if he’s in the office doing an estimate for a week then we get treats from Monday to Friday. So, can you believe that some people are rude enough to exclaim in front of him how they wish he wouldn’t bring food into the office because he’s making them fat? He’s making you fat?!! Sorry, but don’t you choose to pick up the donut and put it in your own mouth? You could seriously just walk by the table and not grab something while you’re in the kitchen getting your coffee. He doesn’t stand there and force feed you at your desk! Also, he buys these treats with his own money, so I wonder how they don’t think they’re being rude by basically refusing a GIFT. Besides, I’m sitting here enjoying an apple and blueberry Tim Horton’s muffin from this morning’s haul and when I bite into the middle what should come rolling out? That’s right, blueberry sauce. And that my friends is a pretty nice gift!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Stuff, things and thoughts. Also muffins.

    Like, will this textbook eventually ask you how to pair socks or make a really good lasagna? Because. I can do that! I could totally pass if they put that on the final exam.

    Reply

  2. BURN THE WITCH! And for sure say something to her about this. If she starts treating Ash badly, threaten to alert the school board. That is exactly the kind of behaviour that produces underachievers – who figure why bother because this important adult in their life didn’t care. That’s totally bogus man. At this critical stage of her education, where she’s beginning to learn how to be a grown up, she doesn’t need some asSwad segregating her and teaching her that people aren’t equal based on their knowledge or how they learn.

    Even better, tell the principal that you’ll go to the papers about it. Having a chem teacher treat her with dignity and respect (an indeed her fellow students) could mean the difference between her working at a perfume counter and actually DESIGNING perfumes.

    Grrrr – that really got my dander up!

    Reply

  3. My son had one of those teachers from hell last year. Her idea of segregation wasn’t by whether she thought one group was smarter than the other, but whether they were popular kids or those considered nerds, geeks, or foreigners. Needless to say, we are pursuing a formal complaint against her with our local school superintendent. But, I know what your daughter means about not saying anything. Each time we complained about this teacher to the school administration, she just treated our kid worse.

    Reply

  4. Awwww, thanks! I pink puffy heart you, too! (and btw, that may become the new tagline for my blog)

    That teacher sounds horrific. Shouldn’t she spend MORE time with the kids who are struggling with the material?

    Reply

  5. I absolutely LOVE what Heather had to say. Almost made me want to copy it and send it anonymously (only so that Ash won’t take any extra hits) to that teacher I had teachers like that back in the dark ages and still wonder why they don’t test teachers on people skills and ability to “play well with others” as well as on their academic abilities. The people skills are probably the more important of the 2. They really have the ability to make or break a child. The saving grace in all of this is that she has you and Rich for parents. That in itself boosts her confidence! Arrrrg…..don’t mess with my kids, grandkids, friends, family…..it makes me hostile!

    Reply

  6. I would send your co-worker a little card thanking him for bringing in the treats. I’m sure that would make him feel appreciated. What a nice guy!

    From personal experience, if I had a problem with a teacher I’d go to them first and have a chat. Be business-like about it, and if it doesn’t go well then go to the principal. Pulling out the big guns immediately and threatening legal action or calling the media will just get you labeled as hysterical and nobody will listen to you. I’m not saying don’t be prepared to go all the way for kids, but use the system to your advantage. If you appear as the well spoken, stable parent who is fighting for the best interests of your child, people will take you more seriously.

    (I have a special needs kid that I fight for on a regular basis…trust me on this one.)

    Firstly, segregating the kids is bad enough..but then ignoring the lower group is just plain wrong. Like a previous poster said, some people really may know their subjects, but be seriously lacking in people skills. She’s lacking in teaching skills from the sounds of it (lol)

    If your daughter has any fallout as a result, then you need to meet with administration immediately and document any instances. If it continues and you get nowhere, I’d contact the school board.

    In the end, if the teacher still turns out to be a witch, see if you can get her moved and if that’s not possible, maybe your daughter can get extra help from someone else. Grade 11 is a good time to learn that some teachers just aren’t that great and like in college, you won’t like them all.

    Keep us posted!

    Reply

  7. buy cheap soma online

    Reply

Leave a Reply

