My Messy House – Week #2: Under-appreciated Mom Edition

You know, as a typical busy mom (are there any other kind?) I make no claims to fame about the cleanliness of my house. I’m no Martha Stewart, I’m no June Cleaver. I don’t make my own cleaning products from vinegar and essential oils and I don’t own an apron. I do, however, use the time I have before going to work each morning to make sure my house is clean and tidy. I load the dishwasher, pick up stray laundry and wipe the counters. Dammit, if a burglar is going to break into my house in the middle of the day, he’s going to have to work to make his own mess!

Even though we don’t own this house, I take a lot of pride in it. While we live here and pay the rent it is “our house” and I believe we should care for it in that manner – like it is our house.

Today, Adam didn’t go to school because he was sick and Richard stayed home to care for him. Mondays and Tuesdays are brutal for me at work, as they are the days of the week that I do my major payroll duties. Rich is lucky enough to have a job that he can do either in the office or at home, so he’s usually tasked with the job of looking after sick kids.

When I walked in the house at 5:30 tonight, after a particularly sucky day at the office, my first thought was, “wow! Rich must have been swamped with work today.” Because? Because he never would have let the house get this bad if he had time to tidy up. (answer: he did no actual work today — cue exploding wife!)

I stormed into the living room with my camera where Adam asked why I was taking pictures. To send them to Better Home and Gardens kid, what do you think?
My Messy Living Room
Then I stomped into the kitchen:
Syrup bottle. (not in cupboard!) Empty Kraft Dinner box. (not in recycling bin!) Dirty pot. (not in dishwasher!)
My Messy Kitchen 1
Then! from this angle? Just, oy! And gross. And ick.
My Messy Kitchen 2

The final straw was this:
My Messy Bathroom
Remember on Little House on the Prairie when Harriet and Nels Olsen adopted that girl Nancy after Nellie got married and moved away? Remember how she used to scream, “you hate me! You haaaaate me!” Yeah, that was me after I saw this.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I should probably be ashamed to admit this but ……. that looks like my house on a really good day.

    Reply

  2. Posted by CanadianCarrie on April 16, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Um, yeah, my house looks like ToysRus vomited in it, on a regular basis, like every day! I’m hoping it gets better when the kiddos are both in school all day! I do however wish I took more pride in our home, I just think that the mess just reappears 20 minutes after it’s tidied and vacuumed anyway, so whats the point unless we’re having company!?

    Reply

  3. OK, that’s what my house looks like as I’m heading out the door, only 5 minutes after I just picked up after everybody. Because we’re FOR SALE and expect to be showing the house any minute!

    Yes, I freak, but it’s still better than my usual. We’ll be FOR SALE until I break.

    Reply

  4. Umm.. hi.. just passing, been reading you a bit because I so relate to being a procrastamom – or ‘mum’ in my case. But I.. er.. have to admit like Jen above that that looks more like my place on a good day too…. (and I don’t even go out to work… which means I think I trump you in the procrastamom stakes!!)

    Reply

  5. Hey I’m drooling over those oak cupboards….

    Don’t you hate it when you come home to that after cleaning?

    ARRRRG.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

