I now also want to own a hamburger phone

I finally watched Juno last night with my daughters. Yes, I’m probably one of the last people on Earth who hadn’t seen it, but I’ve been trying for months to get Richard to take me to the movies and he’s been avoiding seeing this “chick flick” by working many extra hours, pretending there are important tasks in the garage and faking illnesses. He also took a shine to claiming that we were suddenly, desperately poor and chastising me for buying too much Pirate’s Booty at Costco. As a lover of this white cheddar, popcorn delight, I submit that you can never buy enough Pirate’s Booty.

The Cheap Bastard finally did download get us the movie. We laughed so, so much and I enjoyed it thoroughly. It now sits on my list of favourites. It was fun seeing all the locations where they shot the scenes from all over Vancouver and the Lower Mainland. The scene where she’s laying on the van and then writes the note to Vanessa was shot outside the Honey & Milk store located in our community. We all squealed.

Also, from this day forward I do declare that:

I will no longer be referring to penises as such. They will hereby be called Pork Swords.

As a former pregnant teen myself, I found it interesting to see how the issue was handled in Juno. I think people naturally gravitate to situations in which their lives have similarities, if just to find common ground with others. Kind of a me too thing — characteristics that they can relate to. I didn’t see myself very much in Juno, of course because my situation was quite different from hers: I was almost nineteen when I got pregnant, I kept my baby, I eventually married her father, etc.

The similiarity I found was in the part where she tells her parents that she’s pregnant. They were so calm and accepting and her step-mother quickly jumped into planning for doctor’s appointments and other care. When I sat my parents down to give them the news, it was with great fear and a heavy lump in my heart. My parents had always indicated that should I ever do anything stupid, like get pregnant or addicted to drugs, they would be greatly disappointed and probably distance themselves from me by at least kicking me out of the house. I remember it like it was yesterday and not at all like over seventeen years ago. After a tearful, “I’m pregnant” spilled from my lips, there was an audible silence that seemed to stretch on for ages. Finally, my Dad looked me square in the eyes, smiled and said, “well, that’s something to look forward to!”

It most certainly was.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, I’m tearing up reading this post. Great one!

    Reply

  2. Oh, I want to see Juno now!

    That was so sweet what your Dad said 🙂 I couldn’t help but smile.

    Reply

  3. Everyone should have a Dad like yours! And you’re not the last, I STILL haven’t seen Juno and it’s starting to drive me a little crazy! Also, Happy Birthday!

    Reply

  4. “Juno” was a great movie, wasn’t it? I saw in on New Years Eve day.

    Reply

  5. Juno left me in tears from all the “Uh huh. It’s just like that as a teen!” nodding I did through the whole thing. But it was really good and I have a crush on her now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

