Psst! Can I tell you a secret?

Do you promise not to tell the Government? Okay, they probably know already, seeing as….

It’s May 20th and I haven’t filed our taxes yet. Eeep! I said it. I’m twenty days past the deadline. I keep looking at the UFile disk on my desk, every night and every weekend, and willing it to just file my taxes for me.

The horrible thing is that it would probably take me about an hour to plug in the numbers from our T4’s, answer a few questions and hit the File Send button. I already have all the documents I need in one pile next to my laptop. What the hell is wrong with me? This is weighing on my shoulders like a ton of bricks and I’m still making excuses in my head like how I should put it off for tonight because I’m so tired and my boss yelled at me today, so maybe I should instead just rearrange the odd sock basket in the laundry room and have a stiff drink and call today a success.

How timely that I should read this excellent book review on The Simple Dollar today. Maybe I should go buy a book tonight. Or simply re-read some of those tips and get started on healing my disease.

Maybe I should finally file those damned taxes.

…that sock basket is incredibly compelling though.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’ll make you a deal. I have some major financial things I’ve got to do and keep putting off – paying this month’s bills & getting a budget figured out so I can figure out how I’m going to afford being a single mom. It is stressing me out to no end and I’ve even considered going to get some more Xanax or something.

    Let’s be partners. We’ll do our stuff together. We can be Procrasto-buddies.

    Reply

  2. I got my taxes done last month.

    But then I got $$ back so there’s the incentive!

    Reply

  3. We just filed last night. 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jippers on June 2, 2008 at 6:42 am

    UFile’s good, but not THAT good. Most Canadians get a refund, so why the procrastination?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

