If they were cooked already I might lick the screen

Ree's Bacon Appies

We’re attending a wind-up party for Ashley’s soccer team tomorrow night at the coach’s house, so tonight I prepared Ree’s Bacon Appetizers. I had to prepare them ahead of time and store them in the fridge overnight, because they take two hours to cook! By the time I get home from work tomorrow night I’ll have just enough time to cook em and pop em on a plate alongside some Boursin Cheese and crackers. The timing is perfect as they’ll come out of the oven right before we leave, so I won’t have a chance to wolf down 3 or 4 (or 12 or 13) before they hit the buffet table. These have been REALLY popular at the parties I’ve taken them to previously. My brother likes them so much that he will walk into my house on any regular day (like to pick up Richard for a movie) and shout, “where’s my bacon thingies woman? Get in the kitchen and make em for me!” (he’s still alive only because I love my nephews so much and I’d hate for them to grow up without a father)

I included the type of crackers I used in the picture in case any of my Canadian peeps are having trouble finding “club crackers” and want to make this recipe. I remember club crackers from when I was a kid, but I couldn’t find them in any of the grocery stores I frequent. I found these Toppables at Safeway and I think they’re the closest to the real thing we Canucks can buy North of the Lower 48.

Oh Em Gee, they’re delish!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Bacon wrapped crackers?!

    Reply

  2. Is it wrong that it’s nearly 1 a.m. here, and I’m now craving raw bacon?

    Thanks for stopping by today!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tina on June 17, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Hey– THANK YOU!!! I am really freaking out over this– I would love to serve Ree’s bacon retro thingee. I have Bunko Fri. night, but I don’t want to be stuck spoooonnniiiinnnggg out the cheese and trying to wrap bacon around it w/o the cheese falling off on Fri. afternoon.
    I have not made these before, so I’m kinda apprehensive–YES– I do use my friends as a guiena pigs (but they don’t know it-he)!!
    Anyway– I will have NO time Fri morn (havta pick up my girl from camp), so you are saying if I make these Thurs. night, and stick them in the fridge, I’ll just have to cook them Fri. afternoon??? At 250F for 2hrs or so?? That would so save me time. Are they as good, though??

    EGADS!!– Your brother and mine could have been TWINS!! “Where’s my bacon thingee, WOMAN!!” My brother used to put WOMAN behind every “order” he gave me!! Ugh, I hate him AND love him!!
    THanks for your time, please respond asap– it’s in 2 days that we have Bunko!! TIna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

